NHS service standard

This NHS companion to the GOV.UK service standard will help you check that you're working to best practice from the start.

The NHS service standard is designed to help teams:

  • meet the GOV.UK service standard
  • address the different needs of health service users
  • navigate the complexities of delivering digital services in health and care

It contains the 14 points of the GOV.UK service standard, with guidance to help teams meet them in a health context, and 3 extra points specific to health and social care.

If your service is being assessed by the Government Digital Service, you must meet the first 14 points. If you work in health, we recommend trying to meet all 17 points.

Read more about the NHS service standard.

The GOV.UK service standard in the context of health

3 extra points for health and social care

Would you like to contribute to the NHS service standard?

Please let us know how this has worked for you and, in particular, if you have gone through a GDS or NHSX service assessment or peer review. This will help us improve it for everyone.

Before you start, you will need a GitHub account. It's an open forum where we collect feedback.

If you have any questions, you can message us on Slack. You will need a Slack account if you do not have one. Or you can contact us by email.

Updated: July 2021